The beginning

Expansion is life, contraction is death.

I start with the above quote, supposedly from Swami Vivekananda.

The quote is dear to me for two reasons. One personal and another philosophical.

Years ago, when I was still a student, my father had sent me a hand-written letter by post(Yes I am old now! ;)). This quote, he wrote at the right hand bottom of the  letter which had reached me in a slightly crumpled state. I close my eyes and the image of the blue sharp alphabets comes alive in my mind. The meaning of the quote may not have hit me instantly, but I knew this was something that will stay with me for long. I must have been right, since it has been nearly a decade. It took me the second reason to understand it more.

It was Ayn Rand and her philosophy of objectivism. I quote her:

An ultimate value is that final goal or end to which all lesser goals are the means—and it sets the standard by which all lesser goals are evaluated. An organism’s life is its standard of value: that which furthers its life is the good, that which threatens it is the evil.”

This, along with the concept of reason and rational self-interest gave me a wholesome meaning of it.

I choose expansion, and hence life. I hope this blog will further my life.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

